Google is shutting down all services by the end of 2023, including Gmail and Drive, but why?

4 Min Read
Google is shutting down all services by the end of 2023, including Gmail and Drive, but why?

Google is shutting down all services by the end of 2023, including Gmail and Drive, but why?

Google will begin its process soon.

This is important news for anyone who uses Google Services. Google Services include everything from Gmail to Google Drive, Google Photos, and so on. Google is shutting down all services and deactivating some accounts. Closed means completely closed. The deadline is December 20, 2023. Not only that but the complete data will be included with the account. Contacts, photos, and files will all be deleted.

Technical Dost will explain why Google is shutting down all services by the end of 2023, including Gmail and Drive, but why?

 

Google announcement

In one of his blog posts, Google mentioned deleting the account. According to the blog, the company will delete inactive accounts that have been inactive for two years. Simply put, if you haven’t logged in with your Google account at least once in the last two years, it will cease to exist on December 31, 2023.

Now you’re probably wondering who does such a good thing. One thing must be understood before learning this. Google account refers to a Gmail account that is used to access and use all Google services. Some services, such as search and YouTube, can be used without an account, but with limited functionality.

When it comes to Gmail accounts, many of us have multiple Google accounts. Whether it’s to take advantage of the free 15 GB storage or to separate personal and business accounts. You’ve made an account, but you’ve probably forgotten to use it. If you forget, you swing because Google will delete such accounts.

 

Why is Google doing this?

According to Google, these steps are being taken to further strengthen account security. The inability to enable 2-Step Verification (2FA) in such an inactive account is another major reason. In the year 2021, Google made two-step verification mandatory for all Gmail accounts. According to the company, such inactive accounts account for only 10% of total Gmail accounts, but they are the most dangerous. Hackers can easily gain access to it.

 

All accounts will be closed at once

No, it does not. It may take 10% of the time to read, but the number of such accounts is in the billions. As a result, Google will implement it gradually. First and foremost, accounts that have only been used once will be deleted. It indicates that the account was created but was never used again. Before deleting the account, Google will send several notifications to the inactive account and the recovery email address associated with it (if you have added one). Even after this, if no one responds, the story is over.

Google is shutting down all services by the end of 2023.

What are your options?

It is very simple. Log in to such an account and update your information such as phone number, recovery email, 2-step verification, and so on. The account will be kept. If you do not want to keep an account, you can complete the task by downloading your data. Don’t worry if you have a YouTube account linked to your Google account or use the same account for search. The account will be saved even if you use it to log in to other apps.

Google is shutting down all services by the end of 2023.


Read Also:

Share this Article
Leave a comment