How to Unsend Email in Gmail

4 Min Read
How to Unsend Email in Gmail

How to Unsend Email in Gmail

Does it ever happen that you send an email and immediately regret it? If you make a typo in your email, Gmail provides a tool that can help.

It’s simple to send an email and then instantly discover that you made a mistake, even if you double-checked it How to Unsend Email in Gmail. Maybe you made a silly error, failed to add the attachment you were referring to, or accidentally left someone’s name in the CC section. Mistakes like these can be embarrassing, but luckily Gmail allows users to recall sent emails.

Learn How to Unsend Email in your Gmail account before you make a costly error and restore it afterward with our help.

How to send an email in Gmail

Previously only available to Gmail beta testers, the Unsend Email in Gmail feature is now enabled by default for all users. To Unsend Email in Gmail follow these steps.

  • To retrieve an old email, simply send it through your web browser’s native Gmail client. A “Message sent” notification will appear in the corner of the screen when you send a message. To recall this email before it is sent, click the Undo button on this banner.
  • When you click “Undo” after sending an email Unsend Email in Gmail, the draft will open again and you can make edits or delete it as you see fit.
  • You may either examine the message to check your spelling or click the X to close the box. None of these messages will be saved, though, so if you make a mistake, just click Undo.
  • On both iOS and Android, the undo procedure is identical. Click the “Undo” button that appears after you send the message to recall it.

How to Change the Undo Send Time in Gmail

Gmail’s default setting only allows you to cancel a sent message for a short period of time. If you’d like to alter this time frame, you may do so in Gmail’s configurations.

Launch Gmail in your browser and navigate to the gear icon in the upper right corner to access the settings. If you want to see all of the options, select that option from the drop-down menu.

Next, click the General menu and look for the Undo Send option. There’s a select box down here with four choices: 5, 10, 20, and 30 seconds. If you want to be completely safe, 30 seconds is your best bet. Using this method will cause a half-minute wait for every message, but it’s worth it if you ever need to recall an EMI.

Reverse your email mistakes.

You should take advantage of Gmail’s undo feature because there aren’t too many other places in life where you receive one. When sending a message in the future, keep this one in mind for every time you think you might have stated something incorrectly or that needs to be corrected.

Speaking of which, if you don’t want to accidentally contact someone, it’s a good idea to review appropriate email behavior Unsend Email in Gmail.



Read More Articles:

Share this Article
Leave a comment